TuDiabetes: Type 2 Series

type2FB

Laddie_Head SquareToday (Thursday, October 1) TuDiabetes is launching a series of live interviews that are centered around Type 2 diabetes. Does that mean that those of us with Type 1 diabetes won’t learn anything? Absolutely not! All of these interviews will have relevance for anyone affected by any kind of diabetes—whether you have diabetes or love someone who does. This series will address topics such as diet, the basics of Type 2 diabetes, diabetes myths, emotional support, shame and blame, and family dynamics.

Today’s event is an interview with journalist and author Gary Taubes. Two of his well-known books are Good Calories, Bad Calories and Why We Get Fat. I have mentioned Taubes more than once on my blog and I highly recommend that you check out his books and/or articles. His writing is clear, concise, and highly persuasive as he argues that ourtaubesFB current obesity crisis is caused by certain types of carbohydrates rather than fats and excess calories. When you read his stuff, it really makes sense.

Today’s interview of Taubes is at 1pm PT, 4pm ET, 9pm GMT. To get more details about the event, click here. This event page provides information about Taubes and links to some of his books and articles. In addition there is a teal-colored box to click at the time of the event.

Please note that you must be logged into the TuDiabetes site to view the interview live. At the top of both the event page and the TuDiabetes home page are boxes to click to Log In or Register if you are new to TuDiabetes.

If you are unable to attend the event live today, the video will be posted in the TuDiabetes video archives in about a week.

Mark Your Calendars!

The schedule and details for the other interviews in the Type 2 Series can be found here. The speakers and dates are listed below. All of the event times are 1pm PT, 4pm ET, 9pm GMT unless noted otherwise.

Today, October 1    Live Interview with Journalist and Author Gary Taubes    Details here.

October 7    Addressing Shame and Blame with Susan Guzman    Details here.

October 13    Ansley Dalbo presents “Diabetes What to Know”    Details here.

October 22    D-blogger Mike Durbin, in Conversation with Rick Phillips    Details here.

November 11    Susan Guzman, “Rebranding Diabetes”    Details here.

November 18    Corinna Cornejo on Type 2 Diabetes Myths and Misconceptions    Details here. This event is at 12pm PT, 3pm ET, 8pm GMT.

More about TuDiabetes

TuDiabetes.org labels itself as “a community of people touched by diabetes, a program of the Diabetes Hands Foundation.” On this website you will find information about all types of diabetes, forums where you can touch base with other people affected by diabetes, a live chat feature, an extensive library of video interviews, and a blog feature which is under construction but currently lists links to member blogs.

If you have never checked out TuDiabetes, come visit. You can browse the site without logging in, but it is hoped that you will register and share your voice. If you used to participate and are flummoxed by the new platform, it’s getting busier, more organized, and you are missed. If you live with diabetes, TuDiabetes will make sure that you are never alone.

One thought on “TuDiabetes: Type 2 Series

  1. Gestational diabetes mostly happens to women that are pregnant who
    have high blood glucose levels level. This kind of diabetes though temporary can result in type
    2 diabetes in later period. Babies whose mothers have gestational diabetes
    have higher risk of other medical problems.

Comments are closed.